Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

Exploring Public Transportation

Yesterday, It was very rainy. It wasn’t cold. But I’m really enjoying myself. It takes about 35 min to get into the city. The bus route goes directly into the city. The neighborhood I’m in is very nice, quiet and the place i’m staying is great. Last night I went grocery shopping and was astonished with the prices of groceries, Very Expensive!

My bank account did not work like they said it would in the states, so I had to open up a new one. I’m all set now.

My final bag just arrived.

I’m going to make some pancakes and enjoy canadian maple syrup.

Here are some pictures from the plane between Portland and Vancouver

All of Metro Vancouver.

Mt. Hood, Oregon

Mt. St. Helens

Thanks for stopping by, stay in touch!

Tucker

8 responses

  1. Greg Jewell

    ok, I am to date now. Is there a specific time you have the daily column posted? I am going to enjoy following your journey.
    I know it is not my place but I would like to make a few suggestions. I like alot of details and descriptions. Oh and pictures are worth a thousand words so please include tons of them. Talk to you soon.

    Scratch the posting time…I found the notification request box of new posts! Love it

    Greg

    January 12, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    • I’ll be posting more pictures. My camera cable was in my lost bag. I’m off to take lots of pictures now. Hold down the fort in Huntersville!

      January 13, 2010 at 10:03 pm

  2. Glad to read that you have arrived safely. Appreciate the nice photos from your travels out there.

    Canadian maple syrup on pancakes and waffles is a real treat. Be careful, once you get hooked on genuine 100% maple syrup, it is hard to go back to synthetic stuff like Log Cabin or the chemicals they serve at Friendly’s, Roy Rogers, and IHOP!

    Look forward to reading future posts about your adventures.

    January 13, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    • Dana,
      Thanks for the message. I’ll be posting a lot more pictures soon. The syrup is pretty impressive. Also, I went to Hudson Bay Company, they have an area dedicated to pin trading. I picked up a pin that says “1 month to go”. Thanks for everything.
      Tucker

      January 13, 2010 at 10:02 pm

  3. Dennis Wood

    Tucker – I work with your Dad at Duke. He’s a great guy and very valuable to our team. I have had the opportunity to go to Vancouver, the Canadian Rockies, and Calgary. If you get any down time you should talk your Dad into letting you go to Banff via the train for a long weekend. I enjoyed your photos……have a great time.

    January 13, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    • I’m hoping to get up there. My family has gone to the Canadian Rockies, Calgary and Banff. It is beautiful country up there. I’ll post some more pictures this afternoon.

      January 13, 2010 at 9:59 pm

  4. June Horne

    Hi–glad all is going well on your venture to BC. Treasure the memories…Love, mom

    January 14, 2010 at 2:56 am

    • Mom, Everything is great. I’m going to put some pictures on here now.

      January 14, 2010 at 4:43 am

Leave a Reply

