Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

My Second Day

Big news of the last few days is I saw George Bush Sr. and Jr. along with the presidential motorcade in Vancouver! I didn’t update much about yesterday, but I will catch you up here. It was really cool seeing the first images come from the Fraser Bridge yesterday from the helicopter. There was a four vehicle pile-up which closed all lanes of traffic, severely affecting Vancouver afternoon traffic. A large semi trailer burned to ashes, one perished in the rubble. Today was a rather slow news day until the 11:30 newscast when the crew scattered to get video around 1o o’clock of a man who was beaten “mistakenly” by the Vancouver Police Department. This was the biggest news of the night. I was moved from the assignment desk to the control room. I operated teleprompter for 11:30 Anchor Jina You. I was told I was going to slow, and worked to correct the problem, by then staff had been realigned after they got back from the interview to assume their normal positions, a big relief, but it was exciting to have such an important job, even if it was for just a short time. I met a lot of new faces today and really enjoyed it. I might have come across some short track speed skating tickets for a reasonable price!
Best Wishes,
Tucker

3 responses

  1. Dr J Manning

    You’re in a helicopter covering car wrecks? Thought you were prepping for Olympic games, not sightseeing!

    As you probably know, I’m kidding you Tucker. You got our support (wiand a little bit of envy!) back here at WCU. You also have our “ears.” Keep us up to date!

    January 22, 2010 at 9:09 am

  2. My mom saw a motorcade going down Burrard. I wonder if this might have been the Bush family. No mention of their visit in the news though.

    January 22, 2010 at 10:58 am

    • That was it. It was buzzing around all morning.

      January 23, 2010 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

