Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

Working Hard

It was a slow news day, but I stayed busy all day. I had lots of phone calls to deal with and set up several interviews. As I arrived their was an incident where a plane landed without its landing gear down. I arranged for an interview with someone from the airline and when the photojournalist got to the airport they would not talk to him. This was real frustrating, the man said he would do an interview. It’s the nature of the beast, If someone just got in an accident in my plane, I probably wouldn’t want to talk to anyone either. Here is a story I helped do a lot of research about, Stephen Smart on taxi drivers and Olympics venues. I found lots of other cool stories that are possibilities in the near future. After work I went to a cool little bar on Granville that a friend introduced me to, the Irish Snug. It is a cozy bar and everyone is real friendly. I would encourage anyone visiting Vancouver to try it out. Their potato soup is to die for on a cold, rainy Vancouver day. Also, the article that featured Gabe Nucci and I came out in The Reporter today. It turned out to be a great article. I’m very excited that Western Carolina beat the College of Charleston tonight. This was a great win for the Catamount Program. I miss Catamount Basketball, but and supporting them by wearing purple and gold on game days. A friend of our family, Pat Siler asked how the Canadians are reacting to the disaster in Haiti. I will include some links to Canadian media reports about the Haitian recovery efforts.

http://www.ctv.ca/helphaiti/

http://www.cbc.ca/arts/tv/story/2010/01/22/canada-haiti-telethon2.html

http://www.cbc.ca/canada/british-columbia/story/2010/01/22/bc-vancouver-surrey-sikh-haiti-donations.html

These are all some links to the Canadian coverage of the Haiti earthquake. The last story is very touching.

Best Regards,

Tucker Horne

3 responses

  1. Greg Jewell

    Tucker
    It sounds like you are getting some good real life television work experience. Keep up the good work. Take care
    Greg Jewell

    January 26, 2010 at 3:56 am

  2. Stephen Smart worked as a reporter for CKNW radio for many years. As such, that’s why he has such a strong connection with Bill Good, who still has a morning gig there.

    The lack of knowledge of the taxi drivers is dreadful. I thought they were working with Tourism Vancouver to get educated but apparently not.

    Another cool Irish pub you’d enjoy is this one: http://irishheather.com

    January 26, 2010 at 11:08 am

    • I’ll have to check that out. Thanks for the info.

      January 26, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

