Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

The Office!

Today was extremely slow! But it was an exciting day. I got my schedule for the olympics, and I will be working very often. Its looking like 6 days a week, with 8.5 hour shifts, and possibly 7 days a week with longer hours. There are several new interns that will be starting too.

That is a shot of me at the anchor desk. I normally sit under the set of six televisions. That is where I receive phone calls, research stories, do quite a bit of writing and find breaking news. I also monitor what other stations are broadcasting.

This is a picture of me at the switcher in the control room. Don’t mind that my collar is flying away. Unlike many stations I have been a part of, the control room here is VERY calm. Everyone knows what they are doing, and they run a great show. There is no “tape playback”, or VTR’s. All of the video comes off of Gateway, which makes rolling in a story much easier. This is a Harris Switcher.

In this room many functions are performed. This is where I ran the teleprompter my second day working at CTV.

The above picture shows the ingest room. This is where all the footage is loaded to one of many servers.

The picture above shows an edit suite. CTV BC does not use Final Cut or Avid, they use Velocity ESX. The editors seem to really like it. It is also a product of Harris Broadcasting.

I took this picture for my friends who work in Master Control. I don’t touch anything in here, and can’t really tell you much about it.

This is a room that has lots of different functions. Again, I stay out of here as well!

Lots of new things are popping up around the station in preparation for the games. Thats over 60,000 dollars in video recorders on that table alone.

I ordered tickets today to two events. I got them through the United States Olympic Committee. I got tickets to Freestyle skiing aerials in section 2o5, row 3. Cypress has been plagued by problems with a lack of snow, but officials with VANOC and even the ski federations say that there will be no problems at all at the venue. It is the qualifying round, but I wanted the qualifying round so I could definitely get to see the Americans compete.

My tickets for speed skating are in row 15 of this corner. From what I hear there is not a bad seat in this complex. It is by far the nicest building that has been built specifically for the games. These tickets are selling for well over 400 hundred a piece on eBay. The exciting thing about this ticket is I will see all the women’s speed skaters who will medal. They will hand out the Bronze, Silver and Gold medals in this round. From what I hear, Television does not do speed skating justice, so I will be there to witness the speed first hand!

I’m going to go to Granville Island tomorrow at the recommendation of our neighbor, Dana Hicks.

Thank you for the tickets Grandma! I’ll take lots of pictures and have them blown up so you can see them.

Best Wishes,

Tucker

6 responses

  1. Is CTV 100% digital nowadays?

    January 30, 2010 at 4:08 am

  2. Greg Jewell

    Wow… the station looks state of the art! A little more impressive than what I used at TV27 in Dover Delaware a mere 20 years ago!

    January 30, 2010 at 4:59 am

  3. Hey Tucker
    So happy to come across your blog through a posting on Robert’s Facebook page. I am so excited to be coming to Vancouver to see our amazing Canadians compete. I’ll be there Olympic opening weekend and then come back for the second week of events.
    I look forward to seeing your behind the scenes workings of a TV station covering an Olympics.
    Can’t wait to see what is next.

    January 30, 2010 at 7:30 pm

  4. Impressive photo shots behind the scenes at a state-of-the-art TV broadcast studio. Thanks for sharing.

    February 1, 2010 at 9:10 pm

  5. Don C

    What a great internship experience. You are not just “working” you are living the Olympic coverage.

    February 3, 2010 at 5:35 am

Leave a Reply

