Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

Olympics, Day 3

Everything is starting to run together. The excitement only dies down as you doze off to sleep, if you can get to sleep. It’s so exciting that I am on the center of a stage and the world is watching! I’m right in the middle of the greatest show on earth!

I got some neat information today about Friday’s torch broadcast.

Our torch special was watched by over 8 million viewers. We held an average audience of over 700,000. These are all exciting statistics!

That is the olympic flame! It’s quite a sight to see.
It’s going to be some time before I get good pictures again. Unfortunately my camera is lost. Thankfully I had just uploaded my pictures before I went out to take more pictures!
Today I went out with the Bogdan box and a photojournalist. If you are a television production guru, check this out. Its brand new technology and i’m getting a chance to use it!
I’m having a great time and I miss my camera!
Tonight I went up Grouse Mountain. You might have seen Grouse on the Today Show. I got to go into the control room. It was great. For a temporary “national TV station” set-up, top notch. It was exciting to see the MVS-8000, the same series switcher that I use at school, in the NBC control room.
The views from Grouse were great. I got to talk to a lot of folks from NBC, I made some good contacts and got some good business cards.
Best Wishes,
Tucker
8 responses

  1. Preston

    Sweet man, think about you daily. Glad to hear things are still exciting. Keep the reports coming, love it…

    February 15, 2010 at 4:46 am

    • Miss you too man. I miss my fishing!

      February 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm

  2. Sam

    Hi,

    I stumbled upon your website. I worked on the team that designed the broadcast system/Media Centre.

    Have any pics of the finished control rooms or Avid suites? I never to get to see the stuff after I make the blueprints.

    February 15, 2010 at 8:40 am

    • I do not have any photo’s. Sorry.

      February 15, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    • Sam, There are some photos now.
      Best Regards,
      Tucker

      February 21, 2010 at 2:29 am

  3. Super photos today and from your last few posts! Appreciate your accounts of what you are seeing and feeling during your Vancouver Olympics experience. Hope you find your camera or buy another one soon.

    February 15, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    • Thanks, I have a new camera now. More pictures will be coming tomorrow!

      February 15, 2010 at 10:16 pm

  4. john horne

    Tucker should be back into the photograph mode again shortly-a little setback, but not the worst thing that ever happened.Really in the great scheme of things, this is one of lesser cost to this investment package. Have fun buddy-learn a lot!!

    February 15, 2010 at 5:06 pm

Leave a Reply

