Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

Olympic Hockey!

Hello All,

I’m sure I will have some new readers today after the Charlotte Observer included a link to the blog in a story that they did about my trip to Vancouver. If you are stopping by for the first time, Hello.

The Olympics is an amazing event and if you ever get a chance to go, take it! It turns the host city into a melting pot of people from around the world. Everyone has something in common, and everyone is united. There is a love in the air and everyone is welcome to take it in. I’m lucky, I’ve gotten to see a lot of things up close since I’m working for a TV station. Tonight I got to see things REAL CLOSE! Here are some photo’s from the Germany vs. Belarus hockey game at Canada Hockey Place.

You can’t really sit much closer than that to an Olympic hockey event!

While enjoying the hockey I struck up a conversation with the woman sitting next to me.

I was sitting next to a close friend of the man who wrote the article about me in the Charlotte Observer. It really is a small world.

You can find the Charlotte Observer article here: http://www.charlotteobserver.com/275/story/1259797.html

Here is a photo of the fans. It was such a great atmosphere.

I worked today before the game. Here is a photo of me out in the field.

As promised here are some more photos from the IBC, or International Broadcast Center.

For those up on their Broadcast lingo, these are VTR’s. For those of you who are not familiar with broadcast jargon, they are high tech VCR’s.

This is where the broadcast audio is mixed live. Very intense, audio is coming from many different places.

That is a lot of cable, from a lot of different places!

Above is a view of all the feeds coming in and out of the IBC.

Here is another section of this room.

It is pretty intense in this room, although it looks like a bunch of people are just watching some fancy TV’s!

Here are the voice over rooms.

This is a cool shadow that was cast into the MMC or Main Media Center, home of print journalists and still camera photographers.

The shadow was cast from a giant light attached to the IBC to light up the Main Media’s center. Here is the IBC complete with the bright light that cast this shadow.

CTV’s studio is located on the same level as the light on the corner of this building. In that corner is one, of four, of the largest plasma monitors in the world.

I don’t think I have ever been much more excited than I am as I’m writing this post. I’m loving every second of the Olympics and the atmosphere is infectious.

Don’t hesitate to comment and ask questions. I’m happy to give you the best answer I can find!

Best Regards,

Tucker

7 responses

  1. June Horne

    So thrilled you are having such a wonderful time. Great article in the Charlotte Observer. You are seeing first hand why your cousins Rob and Trent were (are) loving the olympic journey. Mom

    February 21, 2010 at 6:08 am

  2. john horne

    If you call home at 4:30 am EST is it really just 1:30 in Vancouver? I guess that it could be worse- just a parent perk! Have a good sleep. Sounds like fun.

    February 21, 2010 at 8:29 am

  3. Nice story about you in the Charlotte Observer today! Your shots of Olympic hockey and the IBC are excellent. Canadians really love their ice hockey, eh? Tonight is Team USA vs Team Canada in hockey. Should be a loud, , festive, super-charged environment!

    February 21, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    • Mark Mattheis

      Hey Tucker.. looks like work and fun. Just as it should be. I’m sending my TV Students to your blog. Enjoy!

      February 22, 2010 at 8:58 am

      • I’m loving every minute of this. I’ve chosen this line of work because not only because the work is fun, but the places you get to see are fun as well. See you soon.
        Tucker

        February 22, 2010 at 1:24 pm

  4. Zev

    Hey Tucker, I am in Mattheis’s tv pro class. I’m so glad you are doing a blog and actually keeping up with it! Great photos too. I know you worked for TV62 and are well prepared for the Olympics. Have you encountered any equipment while working in Vancouver that you had never worked with before when you were in Cullowhee?

    Keep up the good work.

    -Zev

    February 28, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    • Thanks for the kind comments. There is a lot of Satellite equipment, and converters that you will never use. Something I run into regularly are fiber hook ups. Also, the coolest piece of equipment I have used is the Bogdan box. Check it out here: http://www.dejero.com/products This is VERY new technology. You can expect to see it changing news gathering.

      February 28, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

