Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

Aerials

Tonight I went to an AMAZING event. I went to the Aerials qualification round. This was the first event that I attended that was outside. When I got to the top of cypress it was -1 degree’s Celsius, essentially just below freezing. The snow and wind conditions were perfect. This was the first event that security was a hassle for me. It took forever, from the lines to board the bus, to the security checkpoint itself. As we approached Cypress Mountain I began to see that they really did have no snow. I would say that less than 10 percent of the mountain had snow on it. Here are some photo’s of the Venue.

Here are some photo’s of the competition.

During the competition I got Ryan St. Onge’s attention by getting a USA chant started. Ryan later qualified 2nd for the aerials final.

I snapped this photo of Scotty Bahrke. Even though he didn’t qualify, he was still very excited to be competing. He just found out he would be in the olympics a week ago after a teammate had some complications during a surgery.

Here I am with Jana Lindsay of the US women’s freestyle team. I walked side by side with her family all the way to the bus. They were very nice people.

I think tonight’s event was my favorite to see in person.

Television does not do these athletes justice. It was incredible to see them move the way that they did, with such precision.

I’m back to work tomorrow.

If you had been wondering, the article from the Citizen-Times can be found here:

http://www.citizen-times.com/article/20100216/LIVING/302160059/WCU-communication-major-earns-Olympic-internship

I wish everyone could have the opportunity to experience the olympics. It is amazing.

Cheers,

Tucker

2 responses

  1. Jane Plyler

    Thank you, Tucker, for providing us such great photos and reporting! We miss you!

    February 23, 2010 at 5:43 am

    • I’m having a ball. I can’t wait to see you.

      February 25, 2010 at 2:24 am

Leave a Reply

