Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

I’ve been slacking a bit!

I’m going to update you on the last two days of my journey! I’ve been doing all sorts of fun stuff around the newsroom (well, what is left of it!) and in the community. Yesterday I worked from 7:00 until 4:00. I went shopping after my shift and picked up some gifts. My mom has been begging me for a Hudson’s Bay scarf, so I finally obliged! I’ve got to be good to Mom, she does a ton for me. Here is a picture of the Scarf.

Yesterday at work I received an email with some impressive numbers 16.6 million watched team Canada beat the US on CTV. 80% (24.5 Million) of Canadians watched at least some part of the game.

I interviewed the spokesperson for the British Columbia civil liberties union. I feel that my interview skills are really improving. I also completed my CTV pin collection. We had folks lining up at 6:30 a.m. to get the pins issued at night. Many of them are selling for over $30 a piece on ebay. Here is the complete collection.

You might have wondered what that is holding those pins in the air. If you know me well, you know that whenever I travel I try to find a random object that comes home with me. I’ve got lobster trap buoys, moose antlers, an antique water ski, lots of random stuff! I really enjoyed the Hudson’s Bay department store. It is the official store of the Olympics and there was a vibe that I got that was different from any other place in the city. You could go here at any given time and run into someone from another country that was happy and excited to be in town. I first caught a glimpse of this object on my second day of the trip. It was painted with the Hudson’s bay stripe, similar to the scarf I got for my Mom. I was torn between a wool blanket and this. I think this was a good choice, and maybe the most random piece of memorabilia brought home from the games.

Notice the text on one side says “up the creek” the other, “with a paddle”.

I have this master plan to have a cabin in the mountains when I’m old. These are all treasures that will be a part of this cabin! Yesterday I spent a lot of time working on a breaking story. This is the story after it broke.

http://www.ctvbc.ctv.ca/servlet/an/local/CTVNews/20100303/bc_courtenay_crash_100303/20100303?hub=BritishColumbia

Today I worked from the afternoon into the late night.

I didn’t go out on any shoots and focused on monitoring the news. I’m glad that I did. Another station in town had a story that we didn’t have. It looks like we will be on top of it after I did quite a bit of research on it tonight.

CTV is undergoing a massive newsroom overhaul. We are getting the CTV set from the IBC. The newsroom has been moved upstairs to the penthouse. The newscasts are being shot on the street temporarily with the late night newscast in a separate studio space.

The Canada spirit is going away quickly. It’s better than it was before the games, but it sure has disappeared quickly.

Here are some links that I’ve found the last couple of days that you should check out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bV_041oYDjg

http://www.latimes.com/sports/olympics/la-sp-olympics-plaschke28-2010feb28,0,4599199.column

Cheers,

Tucker

3 responses

  1. June Horne

    Hi–thanks so much for the scarf, I love it! Cool paddle. By the way, isn’t your bedroom sort of a cabin in the mountains??!? Ha, ha…had to say that…love ya and see you soon, mom

    March 5, 2010 at 5:38 am

    • Yeah, I guess it is. I thought you would enjoy that Tom Brokaw video.

      March 5, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  2. June Horne

    Sorry for two comments today, but I just watched the Tom Brokaw video and am sitting here in tears…what a wonderful tribute to both countries…remember I was in Canada during the 911 attacks and they couldn’t have been kinder to me (us.) xoxo mom

    March 5, 2010 at 5:47 am

Leave a Reply

