Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

Review day!

I received my mid-term evaluation back from my direct supervisor. I felt pretty good about it, but didn’t know what to expect. I kept reminding myself that I’m in a new country, and many things are done differently. I was questioning, did I do this right, or did I do that right. There were many questions I couldn’t necessarily ask because I didn’t know how to even ask them or approach them. Questions like where is the Okanagan, or what three letters does it start with! There were a lot of geographical things that would come up in the day and I would use Google to find them. Other things would come up as well, little spelling tendencies that were different from what I am used to. Would this bother the person that was doing my review? Spellcheck doesn’t particularly pick out what is different in Canada! Every day I learn of something new that I have not taken into account. Did that make me a bad intern, I didn’t think so, but what about my superiors? What would they think?

After getting my review back, I was satisfied. It was obvious to me that I didn’t blow them out of the water, as I didn’t expect too. I was proud that I had good competent performance and met overall standards for all areas. I received “highly effective” marks,  which were described as exceeding standards in the specific area on 6 of 21 categories.

I was very pleased with my review, although I did not score Outstanding in any category. Outstanding was defined as far exceeding standards in an area.

I had a different colleague, who I work very closely with do a review for personal reasons. I wanted to see a different perspective on my performance as an Intern. She had some different things to say. She ranked me as Highly effective in 16 of 20 categories. She felt that I showed Good, competent performance in 4 of the 20 categories evaluated. Again, I did not score below Good, competent performance in any category.

I worked on iNEWS for a great deal of the night. I monitored the CBC at 5 and 6 to see if we missed any stories, or took different angles on stories. I found some differences, made note and forwarded to the appropriate parties. I also transcribed live hits from the 5 and 6 p.m. newscasts on CTV. Transcribing gives you a different outlook on stories. When you re-write stories you learn a lot about the format and structure of a story. The people doing these stories are some of the best in the business. Re-writing live stories is certainly a good way of learning how to write for broadcast.

I did some research for an Anchor on a story that she needed more information on. I really helped out with the show a lot tonight, It was nice to get to do some writing!

Here is my computer screen!

I meant to take some pictures of the set transformation, It is crazy on the 4th floor! Hopefully I’ll remember on Monday.

I’m excited for the Southern Conference basketball tournament which starts for Western Carolina tomorrow, I hope my catamounts can make it to the NCAA tournament. The baseball team is off to a great start, I’m looking forward to getting back and seeing them play! I’m really happy they beat West Virginia!

I’m going to try to do something adventurous tomorrow. Maybe go snowshoeing or kayaking, I’m also thinking about going hiking in Lynn Canyon. The weather was gorgeous today, and it is supposed to be tomorrow as well.

Cheers,

Tucker

2 responses

  1. Greg Jewell

    I know this doesnt count, but I thought your blog gave me a different look at the Olympics which I have never experienced before and it was OUTSTANDING!!!!
    Thanks Tucker

    March 6, 2010 at 3:57 am

  2. June Horne

    Hi–you’ve spent the night in Okanagen! The year we visited Whistler, the “OK Corral” and Revelstoke with the mountain lion, we went there–it’s a great place to visit! xoxo mom

    March 7, 2010 at 10:23 am

Leave a Reply

