Recent Graduate, Experienced Journalist and Competitive Fly Fisherman

Many Thanks!

Hello Everyone,

I’ve been here for a little over two months now, and in many ways I feel like this is home. As I settled in, I became more comfortable with my surroundings and began to appreciate Canadian lifestyle. I’m in awe of all the wonderful things that people have done for me, and I can’t say enough good things about the people who I worked with at CTV. I chose to use the word “with” because I included in a team that was highly praised during the games. I was given responsibilities, duties and tasks that were integral to the newsroom. I was encouraged to do new things, pitch new ideas and make a difference. I feel that I left an impact. I was adapted to things rapidly and am proud of my accomplishments. I must say, things were not always easy. I received constructive criticism for minor things, many relating to border differences. It was the small stuff though, and I learned from each of these instances. I learned many terms that we don’t use in the states. I was exposed to people who were brilliant. I learned how to tell a story, not chase an ambulance. I learned how to research and chase down stories. I learned how to talk to publicists, in a way that the station benefitted. I can’t put all of the learning experiences on paper, their are simply too many. I can noticeably tell a difference in my news writing skills. I went out with several of my colleagues who I am very grateful for. They made this transition much easier and pushed me each day to get better at what I am doing. I was working with the best, and they were willing to share secrets that take years to discover.

Thanks CTV!

It is hard to come up with words to say how great my experience with CTV was. I’ve become a better journalist, and a more well rounded person after my professional internship.

All The Best,

Tucker

4 responses

  1. Jane Plyler

    Tucker, you’re the best! Thanks for helping us all enjoy your experience! Cheers!

    March 20, 2010 at 2:39 am

    • Thanks for following the blog, I’ll be home before you know it!

      March 20, 2010 at 11:59 am

      • Oat Siler

        Tucker, it has been great looking at all the things that you came across during your internship. In my opinion, you did an awesome job. You are to be commended for all your dedication and hard work. I know it will probably be hard to leave such an interesting environment, but I will be glad when you get back home and can tell us in person some of your stories. I’m so proud of you. See you soon.
        Your other Mom, Pat.

        March 20, 2010 at 5:40 pm

  2. Jeremy Powell

    Hey Tucker,

    It is so awesome that you earned the opportunity to work the Winter Olympics. I am sure that you are getting as much valuable experience as you are stating. I have two questions. 1) How hard is/was it to adjust to the big and /or subtle differences between the cultures? and 2) What was it like to be there when Canada beat us in the Gold game for Hockey? Was it bitter sweet, did they give you a hard time? Well, I hope you are having a great rest of the semester and hopefully see you next semester if you need to come back.

    Thanks,

    Jeremy Powell

    March 23, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Leave a Reply

